England 26-man squad for World Cup announced

England squad world cup 2022 announced
England squad world cup 2022 announced

The final selection of France squad for the World Cup 2022

Reece James and Fikayo Tomori are among shocking names missing out, while Kyle Walker and James Maddison made the list.

Gareth Southgate has announced his 26-man England squad for World Cup in Qatar.

Read more:

France World Cup 2022 squad announced

Brazil confirmed World Cup 2022 squad

Five teams to beat according to odds

Big names missed out, surprised ones got in

As usual, Harry Kane will lead the Three Lions, with the goals to better their previous competitions at Euro 2021 and World Cup 2018.

Meanwhile, James Maddison finally got the call despite not winning an international cap since 2019. Chelsea’s midfielder Conor Gallagher also in.


The likes of Ward-Prowse, Fikayo Tomori and Marc Guehi have all been overlooked and the fans are not happy.

Tomori played an important role in AC Milan’s Serie A 21-22 trophy and has been on form since. England fans disagree with Manchester United’s Harry Maguire picked over the Rossoneri’s man.

Manchester City’s Kyle Walker got the call despite being in recovering period since his groin surgery few months ago, while Reece James did not make the list.

The full-back cases

Chelsea’s Reece James tried his best in the race against time before the squad announcement, which he failed eventually.

James was left “devastated” after getting a call from Southgate on Wednesday explaining why he had missed out on a place in his 26-man squad, the recovery from a recent knee injury meaning there was no room for him in Qatar.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton, loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Ben White (Arsenal), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United), 

Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Harry Kane is looking to go all out as he and England aim for the cup to once more come home.
Harry Kane will play for England in World Cup 2022

By Tom

Never stop learning, never stop creating!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.